Page 1 of 1

Connecting to KR servers while maintaining passwords

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 12:48 am
by jawfin
I have 3 scripts, one for each server.

KR1.CFG: -
Code: Select all
disconnect
wait 300
bind 3 "clanpass kr1-clanpassword; amlogin kr1-adminpassword"
seta cp_clanPwd "kr1-clanpassword"
seta cp_login "kr1-adminpassword"
connect 208.43.15.254:29070

KR2.CFG: -
Code: Select all
disconnect
wait 300
bind 3 "clanpass kr2-clanpassword; amlogin kr2-adminpassword"
seta cp_clanPwd "kr2-clanpassword"
seta cp_login "kr2-adminpassword"
password kr2-connectpassword
connect 208.43.15.40:29070

KR3.CFG: -
Code: Select all
disconnect
wait 300
bind 3 "clanpass kr3-clanpassword; amlogin kr3-adminpassword"
seta cp_clanPwd "kr3-clanpassword"
seta cp_login "kr3-adminpassword"
connect 208.43.49.160:29070

That way you only have to changes the script file whenever a pass or IP changes.

So, run JKA, bring up the console immediately with ~, and type /exec kr1
and thats it, no need for favorites etc.
Change the bind 3 to whatever key you use for admin login.
Note: You should never actually never need to use that bind anymore, just for emergency or if you personally amlogout
This will also protect your name from changing back to Padawan on map change if you are AFK.

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:42 am
by RaVeN
You forgot where to save or where to first type these in (I'm guessing I'm saving this somewhere in the base folder?)

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:09 am
by BadWolf
RaVeN wrote:You forgot where to save or where to first type these in (I'm guessing I'm saving this somewhere in the base folder?)
these are written down using notepad, and saved as a .cfg in you gamedata/japlus folder 8)

generally .cfgs are mainly saved in ur base if you actually plan on playing on a non-JA+ server, otherwise i always put .cfgs in my japlus folder ^^

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 7:21 am
by Phoenix
Well considering the the majority of the script commands are all JA+ commands, you might as well just stick it in the Gamedata/japlus folder.

Actually looking at that, when you first start JKA it'll run in base, unless you specifically start the JA+ mod at the same time. Therefore it would best be put in base folder. That way you are able to execute the script straight away.

Pho~

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 8:56 am
by jawfin
If JA+ isn't loaded then the script won't load it either; so you'll be going to KR server without the mod loaded.
So, to be on the safe side, save the scripts in the \japlus folder.


And I strongly recommend installing the JA+ mod from the command-line that runs the game (as Slider himself recommends doing). To do this, right-click the shortcut you use to run the game, select properties and change the Target from: -

"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jamp.exe"

to: -

"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jamp.exe" +set fs_game japlus

assuming default directories.

If you don't have a shortcut to jamp.exe that you use to run the game, go to the \GameData folder, right-click jamp.exe -> Send To -> Desktop (create Shortcut).


If you always connect to KR1 everytime you run JKA you can be really clever and change the target to: -

"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jamp.exe" +set fs_game japlus +exec kr1

And the whole process is automatic :)

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:41 pm
by BadWolf
ooo kewl jaw :D

or even more clever! find a way to start ur KT and AC at the same time as well! XD

idk if it can be done, just sayin it'd be kewl :3

PostPosted:Fri Sep 12, 2008 8:54 pm
by jawfin